Parents’ Association

"Positive and active parent engagement"

The Parents Association functions as a special committee appointed in terms of the Durban Girls’ College constitution, with a mission statement as follows:

The Parents Association Committee supports the Durban Girls’ College mission and strategic direction, to build community through positive and active parent engagement, ongoing and effective communication, and strong partnerships.

Objectives of the PA:

    • To provide an avenue of communication between parents, the Executive Head, and the Board
    • Inform parents on DGC matters
    • Harness talents of parents for the general benefit and welfare of DGC
    • Provide volunteer services to the school
    • Fundraise
    • To use the fundraising events to cultivate, build and enhance the school spirit, family, and community of DGC

Members 2021

Contact: pa@dgc.co.za

 

Name

Phase

Designation

Caley Rosenberg
caley@oakbrook.co.za
JP/SP Chairlady
Debby Guye
deborah.guye@gmail.com
HS Treasurer
Kerryn Hulsen
kerryn@jphplumbing.co.za
SP Secretary & Uniform Shop
Hallima Joosab
hallimajoosab89@gmail.com
JP/SP Health and Wellness
Leann Guruvadu
lguruvadu@gmail.com
SP Health and Wellness
Suveena Bisetty
drbisetty@gmail.com
SP
Nicky Olivier
nicky.olivier@always-love.co.za
JP/HS Rites of Passage
Sarah Alsen
sarah.alsen@bioregional.com
HS Environmental
Fathima Pandor
fathimapandor22@gmail.com
JP
Gina Meldrum
ginantombi@hotmail.com
HS Health and Wellness
Romaana Karodia
romaana.olla@gmail.com
JP
Jessica Chiliza
jessie@ctaop.org
JP Transformation
Keith Castle
keithc@T3T.co.za
SP MySchool
Xoliswa Baqwa
xoliswam@gmail.com
SP Events
Kirthi Ramkissoon
kirthi.ramkissoon@icloud.com
SP/JP Events

The My School Card is the primary source of Funding for the DGC Parents Association.

Click here to register for a My School Card

PA Committee

Our committee operates with standing sub-committees that support current initiatives, being:

  • Finance
  • Parent Liaison
  • College House Liaison
  • Environmental Awareness
  • Rites of Passage Gifting
  • Communication

PA Events

Throughout the year we coordinate events with the assistance of the Class Liaison Parents:

  • Family Picnic
  • Outdoor Movie Night
  • Dads and Daughters Dinner
  • Annual Teachers Appreciation Tea
  • Matric Parents Farewell Cocktail Party, to name a few.

The Parent Association has sponsored speakers and events and made purchases for the school to enhance the school experience and environment.

MySchool

With a MySchool card, you can be part of one of South Africa's biggest fundraising programmes and make a difference, just by shopping. The card is free, and with the ability to choose DGC to support, you can help education in South Africa without it costing you a cent.

Simply swipe your card every time you shop at a MySchool partner store, and they will give back a percentage of your purchase value, on your behalf, to the schools or charities you have chosen.

Get your free card today and remember that every swipe counts!